Lessons on Coping: Character & Discipline

stressOkay, it’s time for a personal post. This last week has been crazy busy for me in terms of school work, work work and personal commitments (hence the lack of blog entries!). While I love being in an academic environment and absorbing all the knowledge I can, there are some days where my brain simply feels exhausted. Over the course of my studies I’ve had to adopt multiple coping strategies to deal with the stress of a heavy workload while still trying to stay healthy and treat my body and mind properly. One big example: sleep. Through the years I’ve learned the hard way that multiple nights in a row with less than four hours of sleep will not only make me less productive the next day, but it affects my mood, my eating habits and (more obviously) my energy levels. As a result, the quality of my work declines– It’s all a spiral effect.

Thankfully though, I’ve been taking small pockets of the day to reflect, meditate and do some reading as stress relief. One of my favorite authors, prolific Christian writer Ellen White, was known for her direct ‘tough love’ approach to advice on life, love and developing character. Here is some very helpful and encouraging advice from her book Mind, Character & Personality for strengthening the mind and the will in order to perform and function more efficiently every day:

1. Potential of the Disciplined Mind:

Self-discipline must be practiced…An ordinary mind, well disciplined, will accomplish more and higher work than will the most highly educated mind and the greatest talents without self-control

2. The Cultivated Mind Measures the Man:

Never think that you have learned enough and that you may now relax your efforts. The cultivated mind is the measure of the man. Your education should continue during your lifetime; every day you should be learning and putting to practical use the knowledge gained.

3. A Well-nourished and Healthy Brain

The brain is the organ and controls the whole body. In order for the other parts of the system to be healthy, the brain must be healthy.

4. Overtaxing the Mind

The student who desires to put the work of two years into one should not be permitted to have his own way. To undertake to do double work means, with many, over taxation of the mind and neglect of physical exercise.

To those whom this applies, keep these thoughts in mind while studying. While work ethic is an excellent quality, don’t forget to take breaks. Don’t overdo it. Eat well. Sleep well. Be well. Do well. 🙂

What are some of the ways you deal with stress? Start a conversation in my comment box!

Source: White, E. G. (1977). It’s importance. Mind, character and personality (pp. 3-10). USA: Review and Herald.

2 thoughts on “Lessons on Coping: Character & Discipline

  1. Im impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog thats both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Any thoughts?

